Embedding Sustainability into Each Stage of the Project

We attach great importance to every aspect of sustainable development, and this emphasis can be fully manifested in every stage of the project delivery. We hope to achieve the best balance between project implementation and sustainable development, bringing positive contributions to our future.

  • Air Quality

  • Noise

  • Water Quality

  • Waste Management

  • Land Contamination

  • Ecology

  • Agriculture and Fisheries

  • Cultural Heritage

  • Landscape and Visual

  • Hazard of Life

First stage: Planning and Design

We have commissioned a consultancy firm to carry out planning and design works for the Northern Link project and will conduct timely consultations with different stakeholders. After a thorough review of the needs of various parties, we will formulate a suitable scheme that contributes to the community and the sustainable development of the area while minimising possible impacts on livelihood.

In addition, we will incorporate local features and sustainable elements such as green roofs and natural lighting in station design. In planning for the alignment and rail tracks, we will adopt different construction methods to suit the unique ground conditions in the vicinity to ensure compliance with relevant statutory requirements. We will also conduct an environmental impact assessment (EIA) per the EIA Ordinance, in which we will identify potential impacts of the project and look for other feasible solutions or mitigation measures during the design stage to minimise the possible impacts.

At the same time, we make effective use of digital technology. We have applied Building Information Modelling (BIM) from the planning stage, which makes interior and exterior design clear at a glance, facilitating communication between teams and enhancing productivity throughout the construction cycle.

Second stage: Railway Construction

During this stage, we will strictly implement the plans and the corresponding mitigation measures proposed in the environmental impact assessment report, ensuring all works meet the statutory requirements. We will also further adopt sustainable procurement practices and enhance the effectiveness and efficiency of governance, achieving long-term sustainability in project delivery.

In terms of digital on-site, we are currently studying the application of various new construction technologies and 5G wireless networks at future construction sites to improve the efficiency of team collaboration. For example, the project team can closely monitor team members' safety and health conditions using "Smart Helmet". With electronic portable devices and cameras, the project team can receive, distribute, and manage information faster and more accurately, reducing paper use and significantly improving construction efficiency.

Third stage: Operation and Maintenance

Upon construction completion and service commencement of the Northern Link, citizens will be able to experience the Corporation's efforts in promoting sustainable development. We will study the introduction of a series of innovative technologies to enhance energy efficiency, customer experience, operational efficiency and work quality, such as Smart Maintenance, Smart Facility Management, Smart Mobility and Smart Commuting, etc. We will also practice sustainable development with an efficient operational model, enhancing the quality of life for the public.

Keep Cities Moving Sustainably

Each stage of the Northern Link project delivery embraces the concept of sustainable development and complies with all relevant statutory requirements. In order to strive for perfection, we have been holding regular communication sessions with green groups on various environmental protection issues, providing them with the latest project information, sharing our efforts in this regard, as well as listening to their professional opinions.

Have other areas of concern or want to know more?
You are more than welcome to share your views or contact us !

環環緊扣可持續發展

港鐵公司重視可持續發展的每一環,這份重視可於項目推展的每個階段充分體現,務求在推展工程與可持續發展之間取得一個最佳平衡,為未來作出貢獻。

  • 空氣質素

  • 噪⾳

  • 水質

  • 廢物管理

  • ⼟地污染

  • ⽣態

  • 漁農業

  • 文化遺產

  • 景觀和視覺

  • ⽣命危害

第一階段:規劃及設計

我們已聘請顧問公司為項目展開規劃及設計的工作,並適時諮詢不同持份者。在深入了解各方需要後再釐定合適的方案,為社區及可持續發展帶來正面效益的同時,亦將對民生可能構成的影響減至最低。

此外,我們在設計車站時會融入地區特色及可持續發展元素,如屋頂綠化及自然採光;在設計走綫和路軌時會考慮周邊不同地方的獨特情況而採取不同的方案,確保符合相關法規要求。我們亦會根據《環境影響評估條例》進行環境影響評估,在設計階段時確定工程項目的潛在影響,並找尋其他可行方案或緩解措施,以盡量減少對環境可能構成的影響。

我們更善用數碼科技,應用建築資訊模型技術,使建築內外設計一目瞭然,方便團隊溝通,提高整個建築週期中的生產力。

第二階段:鐵路工程建造

在施工期間,我們會嚴格執行環境影響評估報告提出的方案及相應緩解措施,確保所有工程符合相關法規要求。我們亦會進一步實現可持續採購,並加強管治效率,以長期可持續發展的方式推展工程項目。

在智能工地方面,我們正積極研究在未來工地應用各種新型建造技術及5G無綫網絡,提升團隊工作的效率。例如配合「智慧安全帽」,時刻留意工程團隊的安全及健康狀況;配合電子便攜裝置及鏡頭,讓工程團隊能更快及更準確地接收、管理及發放資訊,減少用紙之餘亦有助提升施工效率。

第三階段:營運及維修

當北環綫建造完成並正式營運,市民身處其中,將更能感受港鐵公司在可持續發展上所付出的努力。我們將積極研究引進一系列提升能源效益、顧客體驗、營運效率及工作質量的創新科技,如智能維修、智能設施管理、智慧出行、智能通勤系統等,並以具效率的運作模式,實踐可持續發展,為大眾創造更優質的生活。

讓城市持續前行

北環綫項目推展的每個階段均體現可持續發展理念,並符合所有相關法規要求。為求力臻完善,我們一直與環保團體就環境保護的議題定期溝通,為他們提供項目的最新資訊,分享我們在這方面的努力,並聆聽他們的專業意見。

有其他關注範疇或想知更多?
歡迎提出您的意見與我們聯絡