Did you know?

Northern link – the project that will bring connection

Railway projects are big projects and the funding of these projects is a matter of concern. The Northern link project is one of the most major projects that have ever been conducted and MTR is working with the best team for that.

We have been designing and building railway projects for a long time and now, we have the most experienced team and trustworthy suppliers with us to execute the whole planning of the Northern link project perfectly.

The funding

Railway projects always have two development approaches. One is the concession approach in which railway construction is funded by the government. The government has to fund those projects under the public work program and in that case, the railway company will have to operate the new railway through a service concession.

Another one is the ownership approach where the railway company will be responsible for the complete process. This also includes financing. It means railway companies have to finance the project on their own. They also have to handle the designs, construction operations, and maintenance of the new railway. Moreover, the railway company has to take care of all the commercial risks associated with that design or construction. If unfortunately, the structure or features of that railway is questioned in the court, only the railway company will be answerable. 

Now, if we talk about the funding of Northern link, let us tell you that based on the ownership approach for funding the project, currently, a discussion is undergoing between the MTR corporation and the government for the financing arrangement to meet the finance gap.

Challenges of the project

Planning a railway line is no child's play and it includes designing, planning, environmental assessments, etc. Besides that, the funds are also needed to face and overcome the challenges unique to each project. For example, for expanding the east rail line, the team has to build the Kwu Tung. Besides that, technical challenges, engineering challenges, and even environmental challenges are also matters of concern. As, in any situation, we cannot compromise the quality, funding is an unavoidable point. 

Why the Northern link?

It is not only connecting the East and West of the new territories but also it is opening the doors of endless opportunities for denizens. With smooth transportation, the area will become well developed, and also leading companies will invest to build their outlets in those areas. It will eventually enhance the living standard for people living in those new territories. Moreover, people don't have to hustle to reach their destinations by using the road and getting stuck in the traffic as once it is done, they can seamlessly reach their destinations within a few minutes.

Why is Kwu Tung needed?

As the Northern link connects a vast geographical coverage expanded from Kwu Tung to Kam Sheung Road, it is going to be a big project, and not only that, this geographical coverage comes with high complexity and that's why the team has to consult various key stakeholders.

These processes already took time and now we want to give the denizens the connectivity as soon as possible. It will take less time to complete the construction of Kwu Tung Station on the East Rail Line as its tunnel structure is already completed and the station areas were reserved when the Lok Ma Chau Spur Line construction took place.

MTR corporation – working for the development of Hong Kong

The MTR Corporation, with the most proficient team, is working on the planning and design of the Northern link project. After completing the project, we will carry forward connecting the areas through railway transportation and will also completely support the government in the railway support strategies. We aim to contribute to the long-term advancement of Hong Kong with our skills team and expertise.

 

How will the project be funded?

There are two financing approaches for new railway projects in Hong Kong.

Under the "concession" approach, the Government funds the construction of the new railway under the Public Works Programme, bears the associated construction risks of the project and ultimately owns the railway. In parallel, the railway company will be granted a service concession to operate the railway and needs to make service concession payments to the Government according to the profits made from the railway operation.

Under the "ownership" approach, the railway company is responsible for the financing, design, construction, operation and maintenance of the new railway and ultimately owns it. Although developing new railways is beneficial to the development of our society, not every railway project is financially viable, given the substantial capital investment involved. If the railway project is not financially viable, the Government will provide subsidies to bridge the funding gap. This includes granting property development rights on top of the stations along the railway to the railway company, also known as the "Rail plus Property" development model. After receiving government funding, the railway company will assume all the commercial risks associated with the new railway’s design, construction, operation and maintenance. Even if the future revenue of the new railway is much lower than projected, the Government is not obliged to provide further subsidies to the railway company.

Based on the "ownership" approach for funding the Northern Link project, the MTR Corporation is currently in discussion with the Government on the financial arrangements and funding options to achieve financial viability.

Is it value for money?

The construction cost of a railway project includes planning, design, environmental assessment and construction works, etc. When estimating the project cost, we will also consider the costs arising from the complexity and challenges unique to the project.

Take the Northern Link project as an example. The challenges include carrying out construction works while maintaining normal operation of the East Rail Line and Tuen Ma Line. The works will require renovation and protection of existing railway facilities simultaneously during non-traffic hours, which may be less than a few nights per week and a few hours per night after deducting the time needed for the daily inspection and maintenance for operations. Therefore, it takes longer to plan, coordinate and communicate the construction arrangements in advance. In addition, the project team has to balance various factors, such as overcoming construction challenges, ensuring the sustainability of the surrounding ecology, considering project progress and responding to the expectations of many stakeholders. Nevertheless, we will strictly supervise and monitor work quality while actively managing the expenditure and costs to ensure the resources are prudently used during project delivery.

The Northern Link enhances connectivity between the east and west of the New Territories and saves travel time for the public. It also unleashes the development potential of the land along its alignment, stimulating housing supply and creating more employment opportunities, thereby bringing the society significant direct and indirect economic benefits.

Why construct Kwu Tung Station first?

The Northern Link will connect Kwu Tung and Kam Sheung Road stations with three intermediate stations at San Tin, Ngau Tam Mei and Au Tau. Compared with the construction of Kwu Tung Station on the East Rail Line, the Northern Link has a wider geographical coverage; therefore, we will need to consult more stakeholders. Moreover, as the construction works are relatively complex, involving many technical considerations, it is expected that the Northern Link construction would take longer to commence. We understand the public expects the new railway and stations could be put into service as soon as possible. Further to our study, part of the tunnel structure works at Kwu Tung Station on the East Rail Line were constructed during the construction of the Lok Ma Chau Spur Line, making it easier to use the cut-and-cover construction method to build the platforms, concourse and entrances of Kwu Tung Station on the East Rail Line and therefore minimising the impacts of the relevant construction works on the operations of the East Rail Line. With these earlier works, it is feasible for Kwu Tung Station on the East Rail Line to commence and complete construction sooner than the Northern Link and its stations, thereby facilitating the travel of the public and community development.

Learn more

Looking forward?

At the invitation of the Government, the MTR Corporation is currently working on the planning and design of the Northern Link project.

Also, at the request of the Government, we are studying the feasibility and benefits of constructing the Northern Link Spur Line. The proposed Northern Link Spur Line will connect San Tin to the new Huanggang Port in Shenzhen, passing Chau Tau and the Hong Kong-Shenzhen Innovation and Technology Park in the Lok Ma Chau Loop. We will submit the relevant technical and financial proposals as soon as practical so that the Government can consider the way forward for this project in due course.

We are very much looking forward to contributing to the development of future railway projects, including the relevant infrastructure in the Northern Metropolis, and driving the long-term development of Hong Kong. As always, we will maintain close communication with the Government and provide our full support to the Government’s plan to take forward new projects.

/4

MTR打造未來港鐵路線圖:一切由北環線起動

香港鐵路有限公司(下簡稱:MTR)營運全球其中一個最繁忙的鐵路網絡—「港鐵」,當中包括觀塘線、荃灣線、港島線、東涌線、機場快線、將軍澳線、迪士尼線、南港島線、東鐵線、屯馬線、輕鐵線及昂坪纜車360,鐵路網絡覆蓋香港大部分地區。以應付香港長遠的發展,MTR勢打造未來港鐵路線圖:拓展北環線、北環線支線、南港島線(西段)等,致力發展其他新支線,為市民提供更快捷、方便、點對點的鐵路服務。

MTR未來港鐵路線圖(一)北環線

作為MTR未來港鐵路線圖的起點,北環線料全長約10.7公里,並將分兩期推展。第一期先是興建於東鐵落馬洲支線上增設的古洞站,預計2023年動工,目標於2027年竣工。首階段東鐵線古洞站落成後,預計由古洞北新發展區前往上水站的路程僅約3分鐘,較現時繁忙時間約15分鐘的車程快5倍左右!除了有效優化古洞北一帶交通,更能活化古洞社區周邊的景點,如:古洞水塘、古洞街市購物中心等;為當區市民帶來便利之餘,更為古洞注入新活力!

而第二期發展項目,為西鐵線錦上路站及古洞站之間的北環線主線,路線圖為古洞站、新田站、牛潭尾站、凹頭站、錦上路站,兩端分別連接直達港島的東鐵線以及貫通東西的屯馬線,預計2025年動工,2034年竣工。有關當局預料北環線主線啟用後,有助改善新界東西的運輸連接,由現時約60至80分鐘的車程大大縮短至約12分鐘,為公眾節省交通消耗時間,更大大優化未來北部都會區發展區的交通負荷能力,有助釋放其發展潛力。

MTR未來港鐵路線圖(二)北環線支線

因應施政報告《北部都會區發展策略》的藍圖,MTR未來的港鐵路線圖第二站:北環線規劃將會由古洞站再向東延伸,預計將會增設羅湖南站、文錦渡站、老鼠嶺站、香園圍站、打鼓嶺站、坪輋站、皇后山站及安樂村站共八個車站。

緊接東延後的北環線,北部路線圖亦計劃向北延伸,增設東鐵北環線支線,由新田站的位置再向北延伸,經洲頭站、落馬洲河套地區的港深創新及科技園,再直入深圳皇崗口岸地區,打造一個以北環線路線圖為基礎的全方位北部都會區發展區。

MTR未來港鐵路線圖(三)南港島線(西段)

在香港未來的鐵路路線圖,除了北環線外,南港島線(西段)亦是MTR計劃中的鐵路路線計畫。南港島綫(西段)計劃路線,一端由港島線西延後新設的香港大學站,途經瑪麗醫院站、數碼港站、華富站、田灣站、香港仔站,至另一端的終點站:黃竹坑站。南港島線(西段)打通了西延後的港島線及南港島線(東段),能滿足南區西部大部分居民的交通需要,更為南區注入更方便的交通配套。

MTR未來港鐵路線圖(五)未來規劃及構想

無論鐵迷或普通市民,對MTR未來的路線發展都有一定的憧憬,坊間亦流傳不少推測的未來港鐵路線圖,當中含MTR有所研究的潛在路線發展:北港島線、東九龍線、九龍東啟德環保運輸系統等等。而為了配合香港未來的發展,MTR會不斷研究有關方面可行的方案,實行發展可持續及永續的交通系統。

MTR為你打造未來港鐵路線圖,為香港注入新動力及創造更多無限可能!MTR,我們未來的鐵路!

 

唔講
您未必知

錢從何來?

香港的新鐵路項目有兩種融資方式:

在「服務經營權」模式下,政府會在工務計劃下撥款興建新鐵路;政府須承擔相關建造風險,並最終擁有該鐵路;而鐵路公司則會獲批服務經營權以營運該鐵路,並須按營運收益向政府提交服務經營費。

在「擁有權」模式下,鐵路公司負責新鐵路項目的財務、設計、建造、營運和維修保養,並最終擁有該鐵路。雖然發展新鐵路有利社會發展,但由於需要大量資本投資,並非每個鐵路項目均財務可行;對於在財務上不可行的鐵路項目,政府會提供資助,以填補項目的資金差額。當中包括將鐵路沿綫上蓋的物業發展權批予鐵路公司,即「鐵路加物業」發展模式。在獲得政府的資助後,鐵路公司會承擔所有與新鐵路的設計、建造、營運和維修保養有關的商業風險。即使新鐵路日後的收益遠比預期為低,政府亦沒有義務再向鐵路公司提供任何資助。

港鐵公司現正以「擁有權」模式為北環綫項目融資的基礎上,與政府討論項目的財務安排及資助方案,以達財務可行。

物有所值?

鐵路項目的建築成本包括規劃、設計、環境評估及建造工程等;在估算成本時,亦會將該工程獨有的複雜性及技術挑戰納入成本考慮之內。

以北環綫項目為例,其工程挑戰包括須於營運中的東鐵綫上施工,同時維持鐵路運作,當中涉及改造和保護現有鐵路設施的工程。再加上部分工程只能在凌晨收車後方可進行,扣除列車營運必須的日常檢查及維修時間,每星期可能只有數晚、每晚少於數小時的時間進行新鐵路的建造工程,因此事前需要較長時間計劃、協調及溝通施工安排。此外,項目團隊須於克服工程挑戰、確保周邊生態可持續發展、顧及項目推展進度及回應眾多持份者的期望等因素之間取得平衡。儘管如此,在項目建造過程中,我們會嚴格監控工程質素,同時積極控制開支和成本,以謹慎的態度運用資源。

北環綫不但加強新界東西的連繫,為公眾節省出行時間,更有助釋放沿綫土地的發展潛力,從而促進房屋供應並造就更多就業機會,將為社會帶來顯著的直接及間接經濟效益。

古洞站先?

北環綫將連接古洞站及錦上路站,途經新田、牛潭尾及凹頭三個中途站。相比起東鐵綫古洞站,北環綫所牽涉的地域較廣闊,需要諮詢的持份者因而較多。再加上工程相對較複雜,涉及較多技術考量,預計需時較長才能展開建造工程。港鐵公司明白公眾期望新鐵路及車站可以儘快投入服務。經研究後,東鐵綫古洞站的部分隧道結構工程在興建落馬洲支綫時經已完成,以便興建東鐵綫古洞站時採用明挖回填建造方法在隧道上興建月台、大堂及出入口,有助減少因建設車站而對現有東鐵綫車務造成的影響。相對北環綫及沿綫車站,東鐵綫古洞站有更成熟的條件及早展開建造工程及落成,以方便出行及帶動地區發展。

了解更多

未來發展?

港鐵公司應政府邀請,現正就北環綫項目進行規劃和設計的工作。

同時,應政府要求,我們正同步研究興建北環綫支綫的可行性及效益。擬建的北環綫支綫將連接新田至深圳的新皇崗口岸,途經洲頭及落馬洲河套區港深創新及科技園。我們將盡快提交相關技術及財務建議,讓政府適時考慮項目的未來路向。

我們非常期待為未來新鐵路項目發展,包括位於北部都會區的相關建設作出貢獻,以帶動香港長遠發展。我們會一如以往與政府保持緊密溝通,全力配合政府計劃推展新項目。

/4